Hotel rates.

Started by WolfAndCub22, May 30, 2022, 11:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

WolfAndCub22

This is something that's been in the back of my mind for more than a few years now a comment in a previous thread got me thinking about it. I think everyone in this hobby has noticed how hotel room prices seem to be out pacing inflation.

I have been watching for more than a decade now how hotel chains buy lesser chains out build new large facilities and just seem to expand out of control. My question is are the increasing rates a result of this expansion and is this just another finial bubble waiting to burst. In short are these corporations floating big loans and paying for them by higher room rates and cutting back in staff.

I have no background in this sort of finance but it's hard not to notice.     
I have no problem with aging as long as I don't turn to vinegar.

Romanticlover

I think it has to do more with real estate prices than supply and demand. The demand for rooms in the Sacramento area was high after the fires in the foothills last year but that doesn't explain the rates going up state wide, it is outpacing inflation.

I and many financial experts think we are headed for a recession, existing housing sales have been declining for the past three months and new home sales are at a two year low...interest rates are going up.

Remember in 2008:
High gas prices
Stock market tumbles
Housing sales tumble

Sound familiar?
Are we having fun yet?

Hobby

Last week I check the rate for Mammoth Lakes Motel 6.... 200 per night... WTF a Motel 6?  Might just as well sleep in the car for one night...

Fathernature69

This summer my Daughter and I made plans to go and look at colleges.  One of the colleges she picked was in San Diego.

I thought for fun we would stay at the Hotel Del Cornado.  We planned the trip out and picked Wed and Thursday nights for our stay. 

I went to their website and nearly fell over at the average rate of $765/night.